Arden Bendler Browning in "Art on Paper 2019" at Weatherspoon Art Museum

Arden Bendler Browning in "Art on Paper 2019" at Weatherspoon Art Museum

The Weatherspoon Art Museum at UNC Greensboro proudly presents the 45th Art on Paper exhibition. Since 1965, this dynamic survey has uniquely taken the pulse of contemporary art by showcasing artworks made on or with paper. This year’s installation features compelling new work by twenty-four artists from across the country. In keeping with the exhibition’s parameters, all have created, within the last two years, one-of-a-kind artworks using paper as their medium. Each artist is represented by multiple works, offering visitors a deeper look into his/her/their interests, processes, and skills.

In their hands the medium’s flexibility and facility have been used to explore a breadth of themes—from direct observations of nature to sorrowful tributes of loss, and from studies of pure abstraction to inquiries into the inner self and institutional inequities. Visitors are sure to encounter works that both resonate with personal experiences and inspire new ways of thinking.

Art on Paper offers community members the exciting opportunity to purchase art, as all works in the show are for sale. Proceeds go directly to the artists and their galleries. The Dillard Fund/xpedx generously provides funding for the Weatherspoon to acquire selections from each Art on Paper exhibition for the museum’s Dillard Collection of Art on Paper, which now numbers 570 works of art. The collection includes noteworthy and established artists such as Robert Smithson, Louise Bourgeois, and Lee Krasner as well as contemporary artists Amy Cutler, Elliott Hundley, Diana al-Hadid, and Rosemarie Fiore.

This year's artists include:

Elizabeth Alexander, www.elizabethalexanderstudio.com
Arden Bendler Browning, www.ardenbendlerbrowning.com
Alexandra Chiou, www.alexandrachiou.com
Drew Conrad, www.drewconradart.com
Daisy Craddock, www.garveysimon.com/artists/daisy-craddock
Sara Farrington, www.sara-farrington.com
Leslie Fry, www.lesliefry.com
Richard Garrison, www.richgarrison.com
Kate Gordon, www.kate-gordon.com
Laura Tanner Graham, www.lauratannerart.com
Thomas Huber, www.thomashuberart.com/
Sharka Hyland, www.sharkahyland.com
Karey Kessler, www.kareykessler.com
Suyeon Na, www.suyeonna.com
Sheryl Oring, www.sheryloring.org
Mary Porterfield, www.maryporterfield.com
Dorothy Robinson, www.dorothyrobinsonart.com
Charlotte Schulz, www.charlotteschulz.com
Hyeyoung Shin, www.hyeyoung-shin.com
Tanja Softić, www.tanjasoftic.com
Jerry Walden, www.jerrywalden.com
Antoine Williams, www.antoinewilliamsart.com
Elizabeth Williams, www.williamselizabeth.com
Sung Won Yun, www.garveysimon.com/artists/sung-won-yun

Click Here for Full Press Release

Bridgette Mayer Gallery   709 Walnut Street Philadelphia, PA 19106   tel 215 413 8893   fax 215 413 2283   bmayer@bmayerart.com   Site by exhibit-E™